Knitting from my Stash

Resolving to use my creative energy to figure out what to do with all this yarn

Okay, I’m going to keep a score card of things I’m knitting from my stash.  I have to admit… I need to focus on using what I have. The first step to dealing with any addiction is admitting that you have a problem. I just knew that I had to stop when I found myself engaging in the behavior of buying plastic tubs on a regular basis. To be honest, I only started thinking about this because a current project necessitated me looking for a long lost (perhaps even mythical) cone of Artfibers yarn leftover from a sweater I knitted last year. I realized I had way too much stash when I literally couldn’t sort through what I had to find the damn cone of pink and purple yarn.

I’ve decided that I’m going to keep a score card of all things knitted from the stash. For many people keeping lists is what separates them from devolving into mindless and chaotic animals. Since I’ve been a rather lame blogger as of late. I’ll just return back to this post to relate my progress or not post to share my lack of. I could research some fancy knitting widget or plug in, but… screw it. I’m just going to do things the old fashioned way… bullet by bullet. Besides I know myself well enough to understand that if the list gets too long or complex I’ll just run away screaming. Sorry, I probably let you into my psyche a little too much there.

Finished:

  • Tam from Silky Wool (3/4 skein teal green)
  • Fossil Crocheted Neckwarmer (from Kim Werker’s Crocheted Gifts) – 100% in Di’Ve Autunno 3 balls
  • Fossil Neckwarmer in Elsbeth Lavold Silky Flamme 2.5  balls
  • Baroness Beret – 1.5 skeins Elsbeth Lavold Angora
  • Exfoilating Washrag (crocheted) – .5 skeins of Fibranatura Flax

Started (includes percentage complete:

  • Branching Out Scarf from SIlky Wool (1 & 1/4 skein teal green) – 40%
  • Black Cavern Cardigan from Panda Bamboo (10 skeins of black) – 90%
  • Crocheted Market Bag – 1.5 skeins of  Fibra Natura Flax
  • Tunisian Crocheted Scarf – Universal Poems 3 skeins

<<<<Crap, my list isn’t very long… need to work on this>>>>

UFO (previously discarded unfinished objects) recently picked up:

  • Lace Top from 5-6 balls of Knitpicks Palette (From Scottish Highland Knits) 75%
  • Dr. Who Scarf out of 18-20 balls of Elann Peruvian Highland Wool(commissioned by a friend) 70% This thing is supposed to be 27 feet long… yeah right… I’m stopping at 20.
  • Kilamajaro Sweater (in Cascade Pastaza): 45%

Lace Top -been hibernating for at least a year or so

3 Comments

Filed under About Me, Knit, kniting humor, Knitting, Project, Rambling, Stash, Stashbuster, Yarn

3 responses to “Knitting from my Stash

  1. suddenexpression

    What great knitting projects! I found you by searching Knitting on WordPress. I love knitting blogs! I have a stash similar and need to stop buying more yarn. I love the branching out scarf and think I might add it to my to-knit list. Thanks!

  2. Pingback: Knitting from my Stash (via I am addicted) « I am addicted

Leave a comment