#knitchat 5-5 Colors in knitting

Image from the Morguefile

For years I only seemed to be knitting teal sweaters, hats and scarves. I felt bad knitting gifts from my stash because my gift recipients had two choices, teal or charcoal gray. Then at some point I drifted into this habit of only wanting to knit things in naturally colored fibers. When I thought of natural it usually meant the color the fiber came in straight from the animal or plant after cleaning and processing for spinning. To this day I still love natural colors and rejoice in spinning undyed fiber. One year I did try to get out of my comfort zone by taking a hike out in the gorge in early summer to find wildflowers to help inspire my color choices for knitting, which reminds me that Summer is around the color and it’s time for me to take another color trek!

This week’s #knitchat is about color knitting. Come join us and talk about your color inspirations and projects.

#knitchat questions:

Q1) How do you pick your colors for your knitting? Do you tend to knit things in the same color(s)? What are they?

Q2) Any other places or methods you use to get color inspiration?

Q3) Anyone here love to dye yarn and fiber? Anyone willing to learn or pass on their wisdom about dyeing? How do you/would you choose your colors?

DETAILS… DETAILS… If you want to know more about what #knitchat is and how it works

  • Where: Twitter (follow the #knitchat hashtag)
  • When: Thursdays on the date listed above at 6:30 PM PST/9:30 PM EST (1 hour)
  • Who: Me you and other Twitter Knitters/Crocheters & Fiber-crafters
  • How: Need a primer on Twitter Chat… check this out: What does this Twitter chat thing look like?
  • How: to post photos – 5 ways to share photos on Twitter
  • How: to shorten your links. Simply paste your link into the field in http://bit.ly/ and shorten it. Copy and paste this link into the twitter feed.
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

