#knitchat 3/22/11 – The Healing Power of Knitting & Crochet

I started knitting again about 10 years ago to satisfy and urge to make things with my hands, I now realize that it’s brought me a wealth of other things than the ability to make my own clothing or feel accomplished at learning new skills in the craft. I believe that my knitting has a calming affect on me. This knitchat we’re going to be exploring the idea that knitting can be therapeutic.

I’m including crochet in the mix because I find it as equally gratifying to complete a crochet project. There’s something simple and wonderful about afghan squares. Also, switching between knitting and crochet has given my wrists and hands a rest. There’s less of a danger that I will experience repetitive stress. Though it’s arguable that having different crafts and multiple projects probably addresses some attention deficit that I may suffer.

 

#knitchat questions:

Q1) In what ways do you find knitting or crochet therapeutic? Explain or share examples.

Q2) Are there any types of projects or stitches that you like knitting for comfort or when you are distressed? Do share them.

Q3) What other things do you find calming or enriching about your fiber-craft?

 

DETAILS… DETAILS…

  • Where: Twitter (follow the #knitchat hashtag)
  • When: Thursdays on the date listed above at 6:30 PM PST/9:30 PM EST (1 hour)
  • Who: Me you and other Twitter Knitters/Crocheters & Fiber-crafters
  • How: Need a primer on Twitter Chat… check this out: What does this Twitter chat thing look like?
  • How: to post photos – 5 ways to share photos on Twitter
  • How: to shorten your links. Simply paste your link into the field in http://bit.ly/ and shorten it. Copy and paste this link into the twitter feed.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under #knitchat, Crochet, Knit, Knitters, Knitting

Leave a Reply

