Erstwhile Future Goat-herder?

Cute pygora goat from http://www.pansplace.com/

For my birthday a few close relatives threatened to purchase a goat, a pygora goat, for me. No, I’m not kidding about  this ( no pun intended). To my husband’s relief and indeed my own, they were persuaded not to buy me a goat. Well I can think of a few very, very good reasons:

  1. Our yard is not outfitted yet for a goat. Our fences haven’t been reinforced, nor are our gates fixed up to prevent a goat prison break… Also, we haven’t removed plants that are not healthy for goats to nosh on… I just recently discovered that Rhododendrons ( a staple in Pacific Northwest gardens) are very toxic to our little bearded friends.
  2. We do not have a shelter or goat house fit to make the goat comfortable.
  3. I’m not sure what the neighbors would think.
  4. I’m not sure I’m up for the commitment yet of having to milk a female goat daily.
  5. MOST importantly  of all… I cannot be with the goat 24-7. Goats are herd animals and need constant companionship. While other humans could provide somewhat of a substitute as a companion… I don’t think me or the other residents including my husband & the four legged ones, in our household would appreciate having a goaty friend running a round. Not to mention… I’m not so sure one can housebreak a goat. Not sure I want to find out if that’s possible as well.  If we were to have goats, we would need at least a pair.

Livestock of any sort is quite a commitment.

While, I would love, no adore, having a lovely little pair of goats. I have to be fairly realistic and decline the offer… at least for now. As mentioned earlier, I did get a few informative books on goat herding for my birthday. One titled: “Barnyarn in your Backyard.” I love that the Urban Farm has made sort of a resurgence. Looks like a number of people today are attempting to live the life of self-sufficiency that Tom and Barbara Good did in the TV Series I mentioned a number of podcasts back called the Good Life. But I have to say… I worry about people doing these types of experiments and then having to figure out what to do with their animals later when things don’t work out. But maybe that’s me an my city girl inexperience talking.

2 Comments

Filed under Fibers, Goats

2 responses to “Erstwhile Future Goat-herder?

  1. Sally

    The kids are pretty darn cute, but any animal is a big commitment. If they’re serious, Heifer.org is another option–a family in need gets a goat (or other animal) that helps support them.

  2. Indeed, I’d be willing to even pay for the upkeep of a few goats on a local farm, If I could get some of their fiber at the end of the season 🙂

Leave a Reply

