Too itchy? So what.

You are Shetland Wool. You are a traditional sort who can sometimes be a little on the harsh side. Though you look delicate you are tough as nails and prone to intricacies. Despite your acerbic ways you are widely respected and even revered.

This was a result from a quiz I took a long time ago (which is now defunct). It’s true – all of it 🙂 I mean it’s a fairly accurate description of myself. There are moments where I can truly be acerbic, but what can I do? Not all of us can be a “Melanie.”* I love Shetland wool. But I tend to go for loyalty, durability, and dependability over softness, comfort, and reassurance. Besides in the winter here it’s cold enough for wear a shirt or turtleneck under the sweater. If it’s itchy… so what. It’s not a hair shirt.

I’ve actually been a bit busy. A sort of metamorphosis has occurred in me over the past few months… I’ve become a Spinner… and my favorite fiber to spin… is, not surprisingly, Shetland Wool. I took a lovely class over at the Naked Sheep several months ago on how to spin using a wheel. Bob and Meghan of Datura Fiber Arts are actually teaching the class again. This time they are providing a good amount of fiber from different breeds of sheep for students to try. If you’re local to Portland, OR, and you’ve been thinking about diving into the craft, I highly recommend this class.

Getting back to Shetland wool and spinning, I am now addicted to spinning. Although I once lamented that I would never take my hand to a wheel because it would take me from my beloved knitting, I am now finding time to fit spinning into my schedule. After trying all of the fibers in Bob and Meghan’s class I discovered that Shetland was my favorite followed by a blend of Merino and Silk.

In the process of learning to spin, I also discovered how relaxing it was to spin right before I went to bed. The constant whirring of the wheel seem to put me in a state of calm.  I’ve been such a busy little spider that I’ve made about eight 100 gram skeins.

The green fiber is a merino silk blend. The lavender is a Blue-faced Leicester blend I picked up from the Sock Summit, the natural brown is Shetland wool.

*Melanie from Gone with the Wind

4 Comments

Filed under Spinning

4 responses to “Too itchy? So what.

  1. Shetland wool is some of my favorite wool. It sticks together so nicely. It’s hard-wearing and virtually bullet-proof. A sweater made from it is the only thing you need in the dead of winter.

    Your handspun wool looks gorgeous!

  2. Thanks for the compliment… it took a bit of practice but I think I got the hang of plying the yarn just right 🙂

  3. Nice spinning! It looks very even and…perfect.

  4. Arthur

    Believe it or not, some of us actually like the itchy feeling of shetland wool. I wear shetland sweaters all the time right against the skin with nothing underneath. It feels warm and comfortable.

Leave a Reply

