I broke down and made gazpacho

This is not knitter-friendly weather!!!!! At 106 degrees it is completely gazpacho weather. FYI I’m too hot and bothered (not in a good way) to put up a photograph.
Here’s what I used:

4 medium sized tomatoes from my garden (sweet ones)

1 red pepper seeds removed and chopped coarsely

1 small-med-sized red onion, chopped

2 cucumbers peeled, seeded and chopped

4 large cloves of garlic (we love garlic)

1 tablespoon white balsalmic vinegar

2 tablespoons high quality olive oil

1 large can of tomato juice

Bit of salt

Bit of white pepper

1 1/2 – 2 c. bread crumbs (I use french bread to make mine).

Basically you puree all the vegetables including the garlic and pour into a large refrigerator friendly bowl or pot. Then you stir in the remaining ingredients until it’s all well combined. Let it chill in the refrigerator for a bit. I was impatient once and put it in the refrigerator (this time I didn’t put the breadcrumbs)…. I took a nap and when I awoke I had a granita/sherbert-like substance which made a bloody wicked frozen bloody mary 🙂

I serve my gazpacho with grilled shrimp and a sprig of parsley on top and a bit of bread on the side. Best thing to deal with the scorching heat.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

