Musical Interlude: Dame Kiri Te Kanawa

You may or may not remember that movie A Room with a View, based on E.M. Forester’s novel.

There’s a scene in the movie where the young heroine meets her love interest in a barley field dotted with red poppies. Their first  encounter is set to the music “Chi il bel sogno di Doretta,” and their kiss is accompanied by the crescendo in the aria sung by Dame Kiri Te Kanawa. As a side note, this film actually inspired me to take Italian while I was at Chicago.

[Youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MD1WxgnrY3I]

[Youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tehft3GDw6k]

The scene I refer to is near the end of the first clip above and at the beginning of the second clip.

Now I’m not really the romantic type but the imagery from this scene accompanied by the music and Te Kanawa’s divine voice still causes my heart to rumble. For me this entire scene moved me more than the entire Titanic movie, which I never saw but felt like I had a thousand times from the descriptions and swooning of all the junior high students I used to teach. After listening to them carry on about how beautiful a love story that was, I nearly puked into the classroom aluminum wastebasket.  It seemed like such a melodramatic and ridiculously maudlin story. Not to mention, the classroom I was teaching in was pretty close to the choir room and guess which song I got to hear, over and over and over again… that little Celine Dion number the name of which I dare not repeat. I have to admit I haven’t seen the Twilight movie because I fear that it’s just really “Titanic” with vampires. Now, if it was “Titanic” with zombies, I might check it out.

[Youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jiUoWCnGZTU]

Maybe I just like Romance more subtle and not so syrupy and weepy. As for Te Kanawa’s rendition of this beautiful piece almost inspires me to think of a sunshine colored lace shawl knit in maybe a blend of silk and merino.

2 Comments

Filed under Knit, Knitting, Lace

2 responses to “Musical Interlude: Dame Kiri Te Kanawa

  1. Ahhhh “A Room With A View”. Love the book, love the movie, love the sound track!

  2. Natalie

    I think you can actually view the entire movie online…on youtube… that is until they pull it down.

Leave a Reply

