Vintage Sweater from the “Great War Era”

A Serviceable Sweater

A Serviceable Sweater

I love vintage patterns. I was looking through the few books that are up on Project Gutenberg and I found this gem: http://www.gutenberg.org/files/26113/26113-h/images/illus-hr010-1.jpg

The book is called Handbook of Wool Knitting and Crochet and it was published in 1918.  The main stitch pattern looks like a slipstitch ribbing.  I think I could figure this out, but it seems a little cryptic.  I wonder if “Knit 2, narrow” means Knit 2 together (k2tog). I really do like the collar on this sweater. I think I’d like to do it in a stone or pebble grey in a wool with a little alpaca for a bit of a halo.

The sweater pattern and the stitching seem very simple, but I’ve been taking comfort in knitting more simple things lately. I’ve retreated into knitting as my comfort zone, and now that the weather has become a little more chilly, I can spend nights knitting cozily with a blanket on my lap.  I’ve also noticed that I’ve been finding working with mathematical adjustments to patterns a bit soothing as well. It feels nice to work through the math of adjusting the pattern size by figuring out changes proportionally.  I’ve even found the process of swatching to get the right size soothing. Indeed, I think I’ve just come to enjoy the whole process from start to finish. Have I truly learned patience? I remember a time when I refused to swatch yarn at all. I wanted to dive into the pattern right away because damn it I wanted that scarf, hat, or sweater now! Knitting has taught me the virtue of patience and then some. Now I hope I remember this when I’m working on my next aran cable project.

5 Comments

Filed under Knit, Knitting, Patterns

5 responses to “Vintage Sweater from the “Great War Era”

  1. Whoops! The image here isn’t working.

  2. Thanks for letting me know… I’ll upload a different one.

  3. this is awesome. maybe brioche???? it should be possible to figure out the ww1 knitting lingo. i am in love with both hat and jacket.

  4. I’m a bit rusty on brioche, but if it includes knitting a slipped stitch then it might be the stitch they’re using in the pattern.

    ———
    13. Knit 10 (these stitches are for the plain border up the front), * purl 2, knit 2, repeat from *, knitting last stitch.

    14. Slip 1, purl 1, * knit 2, purl 2, repeat from *, knitting last 10. Repeat these two rows until you have 110 rows in all.

  5. well this sounds like a normal 2-2 rib with a selvedge stitch and a garter brim. it still looks mighty great though.

Leave a Reply

