Quest for Father Dougal’s Vest

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m a big fan of the “Father Ted” comedy series from BBC. I want to design a simple Fair Isle vest inspired by the character Father Dougal McGuire.

Last year, my brother gave me the “Holy Trilogy” of the entire series for my birthday. I’ve go through the series to get some ideas from the character’s wardrobe, but I was unable to find anything I really liked or that struck me.

Here are some of the photos I found.

fatherdougal1.jpgfatherdougal2.jpg

Like I said, none of the images of Dougal in a vest really inspired me. I’ve included a photo of the colors I’d like to use here. The yarn is Knit Picks Palette (click on the photo for a larger image):

smallballs.jpg

I’m thinking that I’ll probably go with something similar to the classic “Prince Edward” jumper here:

Here’s one of the most endearing and funny clips about the character Fr. Dougal McGuire here: [Youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5AB7IDw3PNI]

Leave a comment

Filed under Challenge, Colorwork, Fair Isle, Garment Design, Knit, Knitting, Vest

Leave a Reply

