Learning Inventory

I need to organize what I want to learn this upcoming year. I’m going to start with the things I learned (that my feeble brain can remember).

  • Picot edging
  • Cable-cast on – yeah, can you believe that I didn’t know this? I’ve been knitting for many years and just learned it last year. I think I saw this early on and I was frightened away by some poorly written instructions.
  • Socks toe up on two circular needles – I developed a phobia of knitting socks because of some vain attempts to make them on double pointed needles. I think I actually got to the point where I finished a single sock, but then I lost interest in knitting the same exact thing all over again. The two circular needles method actually helped compensate for my ADD. I did learn how to knit two pairs on one circular using the “Magic Loop” method. In fact, I knit the sleeves for my husband’s raglan sweater this way, but I decided I don’t like knitting tiny things using the “Magic Loop.” I always forget and pull the needle cord through all the way and end up loosing the loop. Don’t seem to have this problem too much when working with larger items like sleeves.
  • Knitting a Seamless Sweater, Elizabeth Zimmerman Style – This I’m particularly proud of and actually elated about because, because, because… I HATE SEWING. That’s why I knit. Yes, I still have to sew ends in, but I cannot tell you how many times I’ve sewn blocked pieces together and then have to un do the sewing becuase I either put them on backwards or I just couldn’t mattress stitch right.
  • How to make my own blocking board – No more being lame and using the ironing board or bed.

Things I want to learn:

  • How to put together sleeve caps and armholes better.
  • Fair Isle – okay I really don’t like doing this, but I feel like I have to push myself to learn how to do it because it’s the right thing to do.
  • Making a nice scalloped crochet edge
  • How to use steeks
  • How to use a spindle.
  • Better fiber selection – I know my way around the types of fibers but I want to learn about how to determine if a yarn has the right drape for a project.
Leave a comment

Filed under Challenge, Garment Design, Knit, Knitting, Techniques, Yarn

Leave a Reply

