Fixing the Facts to Fit the Truth

The very powerful and the very stupid have one thing in common. They don’t alter their views to fit the facts; they alter the facts to fit their views, which can be uncomfortable if you happen to be one of the facts that needs altering.

 – Dr. Who.

I’m not very powerful, but I do sometimes adjust my knitting to fit my needs when I make mistakes. I do this sometimes when working with cables.  It’s easy to do if you’re working with a sort of fuzzy yarn like a mohair blend. I recently picked up an unfinished sweater project from last year- it’s an aran sweater done in worsted weight heathered wool.  I don’t have a very good track record with finishing aran sweaters. This sweater’s body is half way done… and half of  I’m actually considering converting it into a pillow cover, poor husband… it was originally for him. Maybe he’ll just get an aran pillow instead.

I really need to just practice more self-discipline with these huge projects. Maybe if I hadn’t discovered socks this year. I’ve actually completed four pairs. That might actually equal half an arm of a man’s aran sweater.

I’d take a picture of it, but it’s just sort of depressing.

Leave a comment

Filed under Challenge, Knit, Knitting, Stuff I made

Leave a Reply

