Dr. Who Scarf Colors

As promised here are the colors I am using for the Season 15 Dr. Who Scarf made famous by Tom Baker. I used Elann’s Peruvian Highland Wool because of the rich range of colors and the cost. It’s got to be the best price for the range of colors in a 100% wool yarn I’ve seen so far. I chose to use predominantly heathered yarn because I like the rustic effect vs. the well defined look. Note: I did reduce the width to about 38 stitches across. 70 -90 stitches seemed way too large and cumbersome.

I’ve matched the colors listen on the scarf pattern page. I started with 2 skeins of each color.

  • Medium Purple – 0743 Grape Heather
  • Light/Medium Gray– 0401 Light Grey Heather
  • Very Dark Olive Green –Wasn’t really into using a dark colored olive… so I chose “Herb” as a substitute, which is currently out of stock… though you could probably get away with using 0651 Forest Glade Heather or 2308 Cedar
  • Medium Brown –0208 Malt Heather
  • Medium/Dark Red – 0727 Spiced Wine
  • Dark Yellow – 1150 Butterscotch
  • Light Tan/Beige – 282 Oatmeal Heather

peruvian-wool.jpg

2 Comments

Filed under Colors, Knit, Knitting, Science Fiction, Wool, Yarn

2 responses to “Dr. Who Scarf Colors

  1. Jill

    I’m hoping you can help! I am using Elann Forest Glen Glade for a man’s sweater for my grown son. I’m coming up short and it would look crazy to sub another yarn. I saw a mention of this yarn on your blog and would be forever indebted if you have any left in my dye lot and would part with it for the right price 🙂 Thanks so much,
    jillinseattle@yahoo.com

  2. If you mean Forest Glade Heather. I have a bunch in Dyelot 903 & 651.

Leave a Reply

