This is why I knit…

When I first started mastering knitting and actually making objects that were aesthetically appealing… I had a hard time giving away what I made.  Lately, I’ve been finding more joy in making things for others. I gifted a little vest I knit for a friend of mine who is expecting. Sorry, I didn’t take a picture of it, but you can get a good look at it here.  She seemed genuinely charmed with the tiny little garment to the point that she too wanted to learn to knit. I agreed to help her out and get her started by teaching her.  I enjoy helping people get started and learn how knit, especially kids.  Perhaps it’s because we live in a digital age, where I believe that it’s even more important to make things with our hands. I myself found that as my career went more and more virtual and I was creating items and experiences for the web, I found myself more deeply wound in balls of string and my yarn stash grew from a basket to a shelf.  I had always been a knitter but it was more of an every-other weekend hobby.

I did a search on the “importance of craft” and found a wonderful article.  It’s sort of an anatomical treatise on our physical abilities to make things. We have thumbs… therefore we must Craft! But I think the author puts it well as he rationalizes our need to craft:

Why bother to make anything by hand today? Because for those who practice it and for those who need an antidote to the alienation of modern society, handwork can be meaningful. Individuals with a certain kind of bodily intelligence will find handwork to be a rewarding form of labor and expression.

Well at least I can reassure myself if it comes down to “the crunch” (I almost typed ‘crunchy’) because I am a knitter, I know how to clothe myself and keep myself warm.

2 Comments

Filed under Craft, Knit, Science, Teaching

2 responses to “This is why I knit…

  1. Anni

    Thanks for sharing that interesting article. I’ll have to read it one more time – at least.

    – and I think it’s so wonderful that you’ll teach your friend how to knit. I believe that the love for knitting grows when shared.

  2. Thanks for the comment, Anni. So true – about teaching others. Knitting has taught me a great deal of patience, whenever I had to learn something particularly pesky or hairy at work, I’d always remind myself… but, hey, I CAN KNIT BACKWARDS (troubleshoot mistakes in my stitching)… this stuff shouldn’t be that hard.

Leave a Reply

