Floppy Bunny

Other than the scarf the bunny is all done in crochet. I’m currently hurrying to finish his little aran sweater. The kimono behind him is done in the the Bare-Merino from Knit Picks. Hopefully, I can put more details and photos up later.

bunny.jpg

Floppy Bunny

bunnycloseup.jpgYarns: Spinnaker (KnitPicks), Scarf and Sweater (not shown above) Peruvian Highland Wool (Elann).

Details: The inspiration for the bunny came from a similar toy I saw at Mabel’s Knittery. I wanted to create an English tea friend for a little girl. The body pieces and ears of the bunny were done in single crochet. The nubbly texture of the Spinnaker yarn was a little challenging to work with, but I was quite pleased with the results and the overall texture of the fabric. I’m a little sad that KnitPicks isn’t offering that particular color (Driftwood) any more. I used some wooden buttons for the eyes, embroidery thread for mouth and nose. The bunny was stuffed with polyfill. I also stuffed a lavender sachet in the body cavity so the bunny could have a pleasant and relaxing scent. Knitting and construction of the bunny only took me a few hours. I was able to finish knitting the tiny aran sweater for the bunny in time for me to give him as a gift to a little daughter of a friend of ours this weekend. There were a few spots or tiny holes in the fabric that appeared after stuffing, so I fashioned the sweater to cover these up. I actually sewed the sweater to the bunny though the neck hole was so small there probably is no way you could slip the sweater off. I was able to take a few pictures of the bunny all decked out in his sweater at the party yesterday. I’ll try to post them soon.

bunny2.jpg

Baby Kimono

Yarn: Bare – Superwash Merino Worsted Weight (KnitPicks)
Details: I used the pattern for the Garter Stitch Wrap Top from Simple Knits for Cherished Babies. I was lucky enough to find a used copy of this book from Powell’s Book Store. I knit the smallest size with the worsted weight using seed stitch rather than garter for the main body. The result was a nice fluffy and warm garment for a toddler. This pattern was exactly what I was looking for because it was knit in one piece, and as I may have mentioned before I hate sewing or finishing garments. The buttons are made of shell and I purchased them at the Pendelton Woolen Mill Outlet near Milwaukee, OR. Actually, they have some good finds there, namely bulk wool for felting. The colors are limited but there’s nothing to get a knitters blood flowing like reasonably priced wool in large quantities.

kimonomed.jpg buttoncloseup.jpg

3 Comments

Filed under Baby clothes, Knit, Knitting, Project, Toys, Yarn

3 responses to “Floppy Bunny

  1. Wow, Bunny and his wardrobe are so cute!

  2. Thank you- thank you. I’m a bunny freak.

  3. your wrap sweater is just gorgeous! i was just googling that sweater to confirm the yarn weight it called for before i placed a big order at webs (jaeger’s going out of business, so all their yarns ar $3.69 a ball, btw–good to know if you knit for babies very often), and i found your site. i love the addition of the buttons on the side–i like that better than the tie in the original pattern! go you!

    ps–the bunny’s mighty cute, too! 🙂
    pps–i am digging that quilt under everything, too. it’s been a LONG time since i made one of those!

Leave a Reply

