Kitsch, movies and knitting style

I just went to the dentist and came back needing a laugh so… I looked up one of my favorite movies on Youtube…Peter Sellers in The Party.

[Youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=61q20-uhFDw]

I’d love to knit that mini-dress in the clip. I wouldn’t love to wear it… just knit it.
I suddenly remembered this fantasy I had of creating knit-wear and projects from movies in the past. Though the legal implications of using studio imagery would be too hairy to bear. But still it’s a thought… vintage patterns seem present in the realm of ‘hip’ (god, that’s become a rather unfashionable term lately hasn’t it?) in some way shape or form.

I found this really neat “Tribe” for vintage fashion here. If you want to get some inspiration from what others are doing in fashion design.
http://vintagefashion.tribe.net/?current=tribephotos&set=y#tabs

Leave a comment

Filed under Creativity, Fashion, Garment Design, Kitsch, Knit, Pop culture

Leave a Reply

