Techie Dream – Knitting Robots that make garments in one piece

I would like to see more knitted garment patterns that require less sewing. Of course, I realize I’m going to have to give up on fit. But you see, I think that would be a wonderful engineering challenge to design knitwear that you don’t have to sew in order to finish.

Speaking of knitting and engineering, I did a search on Knitting Technology and found the following article:

http://www.knittingtogether.co.uk/doc.asp?doc=7392&cat=746

By the way this site has a wonderful historical time line of the knitting industry.

I’m fascinated with machines and this link actually featured different industry knitting machines. Now, I’m not advocating throwing down our needles, I just think that machines can be a thing of beauty especially when you consider the human ingenuity that went into building and designing them.

Additional finds:

t_uniwara_camber.jpg

Circular Knitting Machine

t_bently_komet_1.jpg

Sock knitting machine

Leave a comment

Filed under Garment Design, Knit, Knitting, Patterns, Robots, Sewing, Techie, Techniques

Leave a Reply

