Cheating at color work

I’ve got a bee in my bonnet to design little animal patches for a baby blanket. However, it’s been a while since I’ve worked with more than one color, and honestly, part of me really hates using more than one color. Fair Isle is not my favorite thing to do. I can imagine myself becoming tangled in the different strands. Also, I’m not a tension junky so I can also picture my knitting looking more like an enlarged underwear garter for granny pants.

After searching through tutorials online I found this one on knitty.com: http://www.knitty.com/ISSUEspring06/FEATspr06FK.html

This technique is perfect for the multiple color strand phobics like myself because it’s more of an embellishment and I can focus on completing this after the garment or piece is completed. Also the author, Kristi Porter, explains how to translate any design into pixels and then to stitches. Of course, you’ll want to make sure the design fits the number of stitches in stockinette.

After some digging I also found a very cute classic looking blanket with animals embroidered into it. Sort of what I’m looking for. I’ll probably look for a good super-wash wool that’s soft and cuddly to the touch. You can click on the image to get directly to the pattern.

3158.jpg

Honestly one day I will tackle a Fair Isle Sampler just for the heck of it… but until then embroidery floss here I come.

Leave a comment

Filed under Colors, Knitting, Stockinette, Techniques, Yarn

Leave a Reply

