Lace

I think my family has a history of Aspbergers Syndrome. This might explain my fascination with lace and lace patterns. Lace and lace charts seem to embody the mathematics of knitting. I enjoy reading chart patterns (shows what a nerd I am) because it’s like reading a puzzle. Sometimes I can envision what the lace will look like with a fiber I’m holding in my hand. It’s even a greater treat once you’re knitting the pattern and seeing the lace start to form gradually row by row. From an aesthetic perspective I really like the tesslation patterns and how they’re built together. Recently, I knit both sides of a tank or sleeveless sweater using a repeated stitch pattern that looks a little like dragon scales when it was unblocked. I’ve just finished the blocking practice and I’m ready to sew the piece together. Once I get my act together and find the digital camera I’ll post the fabric up so you can see it.
The worst part (at least from my point of view) of finishing a piece is sewing the ends in. I worked with a really icky mohair once and became so sick of it that I didn’t sew in the ends until probably six months after I finished knitting the pieces.

One of the most beautifully illustrated tutorials on knitting lace…

Eunny Jang has developed a four part series on learning how to properly knit lace.

Part III

Leave a comment

Filed under Knitting, Lace, Techniques

Leave a Reply

